In Limbo

“Time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.”
– Marthe Troly-Curtin, Phrynette Married

This initial phase of my gap year has been like a transition period between leaving my prior life and setting off to explore the unknown. Most career-breakers don’t really think about giving themselves this “in between” time and jump right into their newfound life of freedom and adventure. But here are some things I’m really enjoying during this period in limbo:

  • Family time:
    When I first set off for the US, I didn’t place much importance on family time. Seventeen-year old me was just excited to be free and out of the house, a freshman in college. But six years of being away from home has changed me. Though I still love being on my own and feeling independent, I now value any time I get to spend with my parents and brother. And after so many years of rushed visits and hurried goodbyes over short vacations, this extended stay with family has been priceless.
  • Learning random stuff:
    This part’s been fun. Incredibly interesting, educational and fun. From teaching myself the basics of video editing to watching epic movies I should have watched ages ago (like Blood Diamond, Fight Club, Schindler’s List) to figuring out how to wear a sari (see previous post) to starting a blog, this downtime’s made it possible for me to pursue some random interests that I never got around to before.
  • And finally, breathing space:
    This transition period feels like my breathing space between work and play. When I start traveling on my own next month, I know it’s going to be the experience of a lifetime. But I also know that it won’t be completely stress-free. I’ll be active and busy in a different way – I’ll be out and about, exploring, experiencing. It will be exciting but also tiring I’m sure. And though I can’t wait, it is nice to have this space in the middle.

At the end of the day, what it all boils down to is having time. What I’m loving right now is having complete, 100%, uninterrupted time. I know sooner or later, I’m going to get bored of it. I’m going to get restless and start craving activity again. But for now, this lull, this little pause between two chapters of my life, feels really good.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. v says:

    🙂
    Isn’t that quote by Bertrand Russell.

      1. vimal says:

        when looking it up earlier today
        i had a feeling you’d have something like this up your sleeve 😛
        nice catch…
        now, I just need to get in touch with all those quote websites who attribute it to Bert… :-/

Leave a Reply

