Adios Buenos Aires, Te Extraño Más De Lo Que Pensé

It was with a heavy heart that I left Buenos Aires 10 days ago. And even today, I still find myself comparing everything here in California to how things are done in Buenos Aires. Of course I miss the friends I made, the food, the Spanish classes…but I also somehow miss many of the mundane and seemingly forgettable things about the city. Almost more than the things I thought I’d miss. Little did I think I’d be reminiscing about constantly watching out for dog poo on the streets. Nor did I think I’d miss the broken pavements, the Guia T, the protests, dog walkers on the street, the bus system, saying “bueno” and “dale”, and all the other little routine things ingrained into the daily life of porteños. Here in the US, I must drive people crazy with my stories of the most boring things about the life I just left. How to catch the bus, how to carry a backpack, how to talk with Argentine hand gestures. But I can’t stop myself…it was all such a part of my existence for the last month…I was so deeply immersed in a lifestyle so new and different and exciting to me. And without even trying, just from casual conversations with my Spanish teacher, with cab drivers, food vendors and my roommates, I learned so much about the country’s history, economy and culture….How does one not get attached? Now, I find it hard to let it all go.

The onward journey has been wonderful. And I know the rest of this trip will be filled with more discoveries and adventures and excitement. But there’s something about Argentina that also makes me certain that I won’t be forgetting about it anytime soon.

Leaving Buenos Aires

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Linda says:

    Hi, I’ve been reading your blog for tips and tricks regarding my upcoming stay in Argentina this summer. I really enjoy reading your blog; it is easy to read, contains a lot of ‘less touristy’ activities and you are straight to the point, when describing/stating things. 😀 I read you took Folklore dance lessons in Buenos Aires. I was wondering how fluent your Spanish was at that time of the dance lessons?
    Also, did you travel with your iPhone? I have been reading the travel forum on Tripadvisor back and forth, where they advise not to take laptops, iPhones etc. to Buenos Aires. Yet, same as you, I would also like to stay in contact with my family and friends back home. Can you recommend travelling with your iPhone in Argentina/Buenos Aires?
    Last but not least, have you met students at Vamos Spanish school who stayed with families in Buenos Aires?
    Thank you for your response in advance. 😀

    1. Hi Linda, thanks for reading! I’m glad it’s helping you plan your trip to BA…you will love it, it’s such a fun city to be in 🙂 So to answer your questions:
      1. My Spanish was decent during the time of the folklore lesson but not completely fluent. But because it was a workshop given by Vamos, the school I was taking Spanish classes at, if we didn’t understand, they would rephrase in simpler Spanish or explain in English.
      2. I did have my iPhone and I’m really glad I took it with me on my travels – I didn’t travel with my laptop so the iPhone was my connection to the outside world, plus I used it all the time to book flights, make plans etc. However, Buenos Aires does have a pickpocket/theft issue so I was extremely careful with the iPhone. I never took it out in public, and used a simple crappy phone for my day-to-day calls (only used iPhone for wifi/internet in BA). I did see a lot of people handle iPhones more casually though without problem, so I think you’ll be fine taking it. I had read a lot of negative stuff online too, it’s not as bad as it seems on the internet. Still there were incidents I heard about while I was there from friends so do be extra careful 🙂
      3. I did meet one or two people who stayed with host families – they all had average reviews. Most people did not arrange their accommodation through Vamos and found apartments independently. I paid for 2 weeks at a shared apartment through Vamos, and then arranged my own accommodation through people I met once I was there. This worked well for me because I met other students through the shared accommodation but then was able to find something way cheaper afterwards. If you want me to put you in touch with a good host who rents rooms out, let me know.
      Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

